Centre for Energy Studies

Currently, the CES is working with Central and State Governments, Electricity Regulatory Commissions, Utilities and Energy Companies providing consulting and capacity building support. The areas of work include Energy Conservation Building Code (ECBC) development and implementation, Renewable Energy (Solar and Biomass), Cool Roofs for Climate Change, Estimation of Agriculture Consumption in states, development of E-Mobility, Organisation Development and Strategy for energy entities, Third Party Inspection for power distribution utilities, Tariff regulation and aligned activity. We provide inputs to several Expert Committees on various challenging aspects of the energy sector particularly power.

CES provides capacity building both customized as well as open, announced programmes for leading energy entities both in India and in the South Asia region. We have conducted programmes for leading PSUs like NTPC Ltd., Power Grid, THDC Ltd., Damodar Valley Corporation and Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB). Our participants for our other courses are enrolled from a cross section of energy entities including NPCIL, AP Transco, Coal India Ltd, BPCL, IOC, HPCL, SCCL, SERCs, CERC as well as professionals from the South Asian region.

Our clients include the Central Ministries of the Government of India, State governments, Electricity Regulatory Commissions, Power Utilities, Energy Companies, Multi-lateral agencies such as NRDC, ADB amongst others

R&C Projects
  • Accelerating building efficiency through work with Real Estate Groups and Financial Institutions(Climate Works Foundation)
  • Analysis of Existing PPA and Prepare New PPA with 2 TS DISCOMS for SCCL
  • Analysis of existing PPA of 2X600 MW STPP and prepare new Ppa with 2 TSDISCOMS fo 2X600 MWSTPP - Phase 1(SCCL)
  • AP PPP Policy Framework and Guidelines Formulation(Finance Department,Government of Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad))
  • Capacity Development for Project Implementation - Asian Development Bank,(ADB)
  • Conduct of Customer Satisfaction Survey for Rural Electrification Corporation(RECL)
  • Development of a Regional Resource Centre(Action Program Funds for the World Bank administered by Winrock International)
  • Development of Certification Course for Property Advisors(Northstar Home)
  • Energy Conservation Building Code Implementation in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana(NRDC)
  • Energy Efficiency in Built Environment(NRDC)
  • Establishment of ECBC Cell in the State of Andhra Pradesh(Bureau of Energy Efficiency)
  • Evaluation Study for Assessment of Biomass Power and Bagasse Cogeneration Potential in the Country(MNRE)
  • Impact Analysis on Energy Conservation and Energy Efficiency Projects Undertaken by the State of Andhra Pradesh(State Energy Conservation Mission(APSECM), Vijayawada)
  • Implementation of Cleaner Energy and Climate Change in India(Climate Works Foundation)
  • Independent Assessment of Electricity Consumption of Agricultural Consumers of Maharastra State Electricity Distribution Company Limited(MSEDCL)
  • India-Sustainable Energy Development Curriculum Programme(Institute of International Education)
  • Strengthening and Restructuring Uttar Pradesh New & Renewable Energy Development Agency (UPNEDA)
  • Study for Bifurcation of Energy Sector as per AP Reorganisation Act 2014(Energy (CC) Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh
Energy Conservation Awards
Mr. Rajkiran receiving TS Energy Conservation Award 
Receiving Minister K T Ramarao for ECBC TPA Certificate Distribution  
First TPA Group
ECBC TPA Certificate Distribution
US Embassy Knowledge Exchange
Australia India Knowledge
Global Climate Action Summit San Francisco 
Forum on India Climate Action, Summit San Francisco
Indian Green Building Congress
Senior Executive Course
Representing ECBC work at National Level
AP Energy Conservation Committee Meeting
With Dr. S K Joshi and Mr. Arvind Kumar 
A Meeting on EVs 
KFW Visit
SAARC Workshop 
ECBC Workshop in Vijayawada
Classroom Session at ASCI CPC
Field Survey
Field Survey-Lakshadweep
Senior Executive Course
Meeting with Mr. Alan Horn Chairman, NRDC the Walt Disney Studios 
Dr. Usha Ramachandra
Dr. Mr.Raj Kiran V Bilolikar