Centre for Innovation and Technology

The Centre conducts programmes sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), GoI, for scientists and technologists in the area of management. The specialized programmes for DST include, Science Administration and Research Management, Managing Innovation and Technology for Competitiveness, Managing Technology Value Chains for Directors and Division Heads and Advanced Techno-Management Programme.

The Centre offers announced programmes as diverse as e-Procurement, eLearning and Digital Education, IT Enabled Knowledge Management, Research Excellence in Organizations Managing Strategic Innovation and Strategic R& D Management. Thanks to the Centre’s efforts, the College is recognized for its advisory role in the area of science policy and research. The Centre houses the Academy for Science, Policy Implementation and Research (ASPIRE) project. ASPIRE, a prestigious project which had an impact on the STI Policy-2013 developed by Ministry of Science and Technology as well as in the 12th Five Year Plan, continued for the fourth year.

The Centre developed a new policy for GoI titled SRIMAN (Scientific Research Infrastructure Management) and the draft policy has been accepted by the Department. The Information Technology (IT) Area conducts specialized programmes covering new topics such as eLearning, Leveraging Big Data and e-Governance. The faculty of the IT area also provided IT related inputs to other Centres in training as well as consultancy. In the area of research and consultancy e-Governance continues to be a thrust area. The Centre conducted MDPs for the officers of the Geological Survey of India (GSI). The Centre negotiated with ISRO for the conduct of MDPs for Scientists/ Engineers of ISRO and three programmes of two weeks each were conducted.

The Department of Higher Education under the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), GoI, extended the ongoing research project namely “Innovation Awards, Information Dissemination and International Conference” under Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya National Mission on Teachers and Teaching (PMMMNMTT) to train teachers. The project team would develop case studies on innovations in teaching and learning in higher education. The award function was held in the financial year in New Delhi

R&C Projects
  • Academy for Science Policy Implementation & Research (DST)
  • A Study on the Evaluation of the functioning of Tobacco Board (Tobacco Board of India)
  • Case Study Preparation of Innovation Initiatives in Public Administration(CIPS)
  • Consulting and Advisory with UNICEF - 1st Phase (The Directorate of Evaluation, UNICEF)
  • Development of Digital Dashboards(Department of Information Technology, Government of Telangana)
  • Development of Question Bank:Section of Employees under Accelerated Career Progression Scheme(ACPS)-2018(IOCL)
  • Euro India Synchorinization of Policy Initiatives & Research Innovation Trajectory (European Commission to India)
  • Evaluation of the R&D Scheme of Ministry of Steel being pursued with financial assistance from Steel Development Fund(Ministry of Steel)
  • Evaluation of the R&D Scheme of Ministry of Steel: Promotion of Research and Development in Iron and Steel Sector(Ministry of Steel)
  • Evaluation of the Scheme - Ministry of Steel Chair Professor and Scholarships to Undergraduate Students Pursuing Study in Metallurgical Engineering(Ministry of Steel)
  • Evaluation of Umbrella Scheme of Department of Posts- Postal Operations(Department of Posts(Business Development & Marketing Directorate))
  • HR Audit of DRDO - Pilot Study(DIPR)
  • Identify Policy Measures for New Science, Technology and Innovation Policy – 2013(DST)
  • Impact Evaluation of Pilot Programme for control of Micronutrient Malnutrition(MoHFW)
  • Innovation Awards, Information Dissemination and International Conference under Component 6 of Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya National Mission on Teachers and Teaching (PMMMNMTT)
  • Preparation of Detailed Project Report (DPR) For Setting up of National Institute of Skill Development (MSDE)
  • Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration (DARPG)
Dr Valli Manickam
Mr. M V Yugandhar
Mr. Karnak Roy